What is CMMC Compliance and Who Needs to be Compliant?

employees looking at laptop discussing cmmc compliance

When you’re in charge of an organization, your time is spent juggling a lot of responsibilities. From cybersecurity to data privacy, staying ahead of the curve can be a challenge. One responsibility that many businesses face is how to stay compliant with regulations. CMMC compliance is a tool that’s quickly becoming crucial for many organizations.

Here is what you need to know about how it works and how you can ensure your business is compliant.

CMMC Compliance

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a Department of Defense program that sets the standard for cybersecurity practices. It was created to ensure that the government’s sensitive information is only shared with those who have met appropriate security measures such as:

  • Establishing an incident response plan
  • Ensuring the security of all configurable items
  • Implementing security training and awareness programs

Companies and contractors who are in control of this type of data must demonstrate their compliance by completing an audit that evaluates their cybersecurity posture and determines which security practices they have in place.

Who Needs to be Compliant?

Any organization that handles or stores unclassified data for the US Department of Defense must comply with CMMC standards. This includes:

  • Contractors
  • Subcontractors
  • Suppliers
  • Vendors
  • Any other organization that is part of the DoD’s supply chain

The government takes careful precautions to ensure the security of its data, so these organizations must meet their standards to avoid any penalties or legal action.

Understanding the CMMC Requirements

The requirements set out by the CMMC are divided into different levels, which range from basic cybersecurity hygiene to advanced practices that are essential for protecting sensitive information. Organizations must reach a certain level of CMMC compliance to be certified, depending on the type of organization and the data they handle. For example, if you work for the DoD, at least a level 2 certification is required.

If you fail to meet the requirements set, it will result in an inadequate rating which means you’ll be unable to do business with the DoD. And if you’re unable to maintain certification while working under the DoD, they have the power to impose fines or other consequences as the risk is tied to their operations — a costly consequence we want you to avoid.

To ensure that your organization falls within the CMMC compliance requirements, it’s important to keep up to date on the latest developments in cybersecurity and have a strong understanding of the standards set out by the DoD. Doing so can help you stay ahead of any potential risks and protect your data from sneaky adversaries.

Stay Compliant with Full Send Networks

Avoid the costly risks and trust Full Send Networks to help you become compliant with CMMC regulations. Our experienced team of cybersecurity professionals will assist you in meeting the requirements and provide ongoing support to ensure your compliance is maintained.

Contact us today for more information about how we can help you stay compliant with CMMC compliance standards.